Editing translation memory entries from the Translation Results pane
In the View or edit TM entry dialog, you can directly edit the selected translation memory entry without leaving the translation editor. You can also edit entries of remote translation memories if you have sufficient privileges. However, one translation memory may only be edited by one person at a time. Due to a significant amount of data traffic, editing remote translation memories may be slow, especially when the server has a slow outbound connection.
Note: If you want to delete an entry or insert its target translation into the target side of the translation document after the cursor position, you need not invoke this dialog, just choose Delete or Insert Target Into Translation in the Translation results pane context menu.
This dialog has a shrinked and an extended view. You can switch between these views by clicking the More >> button to expand or the Less << button to shrink the dialog.
The shrinked view consists of an editing interface for editing the source and target language entry, and a series of buttons. The extended view consists of the shrinked view, an area for displaying and editing the meta-information, and a series of buttons.
memoQ shows the source language on the left side and the target language on the right side. You can edit the segment as if you were in the translation document view. Correct the source and/or the target side of the entry, and click the Commit button.
Translation memory entries have the following meta-information details:
|·||Subject: This field indicates the subject of the translation memory. You can edit this field.|
|·||Client: This field indicates the client the translation memory was created for. You can edit this field.|
|·||Modified by: This field indicates the user name of the person who created or last modified the entry. If the entry was modified, the check box labeled Corrected is checked.|
|·||Domain: This field indicates the domain of the translation memory. You can edit this field.|
|·||Project: This field indicates the project identifier of the translation memory. You can edit this field.|
|·||Modified at: This field indicates the timestamp of the creation or most recent modification of the entry. If the entry was modified, the check box labeled Corrected is checked.|
|·||ID: This field is the unique identifier of the entry in the translation memory. You cannot edit this field.|
|·||Corrected: This check box is checked if the entry was manually post-edited.|
|·||Aligned: This check box is checked if the entry was created by means of alignment.|
Click Edit TM to switch to the translation memory editor, and view the contents of the entire translation memory. Click the Commit b
utton to save changes into the translation memory and exit the dialog. Clicking Cancel will close the dialog without saving changes.